misterblackbird: (Grr...?)
Cain Hargreaves ([personal profile] misterblackbird) wrote in [community profile] poly_chromatic2012-07-22 07:30 pm

Entry 575; Day 1311

[Video Post]
[A slow rise at first out of darkness and the image eventually clears to reveal a long, slow view of Cain's room in the Opera Abandoned. It stops on Cain himself, who is sitting in the red armchair he keeps in the corner of his room, one small table to the side, on which is sitting a fresh cup of tea, which is steaming gently. It seems untouched. The lighting is rather deliciously dramatic, but Cain looks a bit...harrowed: there are shadows around his eyes and he does not look either pleased or especially polished. He has recovered himself this much after Riff's sudden departure, but no more. The camera remains on him, at a middling range, showing enough of the room to be interesting, but still keeping its focus, clearly. Cain seems to be trying to maintain some semblance of calm. He's holding an open book, but not reading from it--his focus is apparently too scattered.

But the important thing to note here is that this recording is not from Cain's device, nor of his choosing: his Network device is closed on his desk (just out of view) and his more portable device is sitting quietly next to the saucer of his teacup. If that's not enough, the fact that this is not a recording of his own should be fairly obvious by the displeased glances he's throwing to whatever camera is recording him, and whoever might be behind it. He knows it's there, and he knows it's running, and he doesn't like it. It should be quite clear what's going on when a voice speaks from behind the camera:]


Really...Lord Hargreaves--

[Cain interrupts and his eyes flick up, angry.]

--I've nothing to say to you.

[The voice insists:]

Yes, but recent events being what they are--

--I've answered as many of your questions as I would care to--even the impertient ones. It's more than you deserved, really. If you'd like me to say something else, perhaps you ought to think differently about the questions you're asking. Or perhaps you ought not to ask them at all.

Entertain yourselves with with that. I certainly won't be answering them, either way.

[He turns back to his book...]

But, really, the City--

--Is apparently fascinated by my life and my day-to-day affairs and should like to know about them, yes, or so you told me. That's hardly a new situation, if it's true at all. It was true in London, and I never answered so many questions there. I found it much more agreeable that way.

One should leave a few mysteries intact. And it would do you well to learn some respect for one's privacy

[He keeps his focus ostensibly on the book.]

Very well, then. About your reputation--both here and in London--and the reputation of your family. It's well-known the kinds of things that have been said. If for no one besides your admirers and perhaps even scholars of history or scholars of, well, even more peculiar subjects, can't you tell us something. For instance, the recent departure of your--

[But that seems to have done it. This time he interrupts by abruptly standing up and tossing aside the book from his lap.]

I believe it's quite time for you gentlemen to depart. He-Who-Kills can escort you out if you're in need of help in finding the door.

[And Cain gives the camera one last, long look--darkly, seriously--and perhaps the camera operator understands this time as the image disappears abruptly with a click and a flash of darkness and--]
[//video post ends]

[ooc: A documentary about Cain's life would be...rather complicated. Anyway, there was more to this, but it's since mysteriously gone missing. Hmm... I welcome all talking head interviews in this post |D Let's do it!! This is like..."The Hills" only...not? Maybe it's just an outright documentary. Either way: come, let us talk. Endlessly.]
he_who_kills: (knife)

[personal profile] he_who_kills 2012-07-23 02:26 am (UTC)(link)
[Unplugs their lighting]
primrosella: (Hmph)

[personal profile] primrosella 2012-07-24 02:42 am (UTC)(link)
Oh, do leave him alone, honestly!


[OOC: /sliiiiiides in here]
primrosella: (Musing)

[personal profile] primrosella 2012-07-24 02:20 pm (UTC)(link)
Well, I'm sure I haven't anything to say to them, either. Really, it's just awful--they haven't started going through your things, have they?
primrosella: (Strong)

[personal profile] primrosella 2012-07-24 02:39 pm (UTC)(link)
They were trying to get into my closet, earlier. But I've locked the door, so I don't think they'll manage it anytime soon.
primrosella: (Journaling)

[personal profile] primrosella 2012-07-24 02:55 pm (UTC)(link)
We do! And I don't know why it didn't keep them out, but I tried to make it so they weren't wanted inside and one of them just said that even magic couldn't get in the way of snuffing out bad fashion.
primrosella: (Pondering)

[personal profile] primrosella 2012-07-24 11:32 pm (UTC)(link)
Well, they are dressed rather nicely, I suppose--like Miss Saya does, that is. But they keep saying the most awful things about my skirts and going on and on about jeans that are skinny, instead.
primrosella: (Brightly Burning)

[personal profile] primrosella 2012-07-25 02:10 pm (UTC)(link)
I'm afraid you might be right. But whatever it is they're up to, it's certainly tedious.